Nimble understands the importance of data integrity. That is why we've introduced a "Change Log" feature, which supports your company in maintaining an accurate and consistent list of contact data over its entire lifecycle. With this feature, you can track the data field changes you and your team members have made to contacts. 

This feature is available on the Business plan. It was released on February 21st, 2020. You will be able to see all changes made to a contact record from that day forward.

To see an analysis of alterations for a specific record, visit a contact or company record and click the three dots next to the "Edit" option. Then select "Change Log".

This feature is also present in our Nimble Prospector App:

What are the benefits?

This feature is able to capture the following: 

  •  Contact creation, as well as modification date and time 
  • Who created and modified the contact
  • Fields that have changed along with old and new value for fields
  • Lifecycle changes (creation, merge, deletion, and others)

The contact log itself is a list of records that is sorted from the most recent to the oldest change. 

Please note we will only keep track of changes made to data fields.

How to search

As you collect more data about your contacts, it may become difficult to see the details at a glance. To quickly parse the data, you can use the search option. 

To start, just click the dropdown list next to "Show Fields". From here, you can type to filter or scroll through the supported data fields to view a customize list of logged changes. 

There are few processes that might update contacts without your implicit action. The most common one is "Nimble Data Enrichment". We will clearly state when a change has been made by our data enrichment feature.

If a change took place by a third party API, Nimble will clearly state the name of the app that made the change.

If a team member's name has changed or an employee has left the company, the previous name will still display allowing for a more accurate report.

When a contact is merged or deleted

Nimble enables you to merge contacts when there are duplicates detected. To ensure no useful data is lost during the merging process, Nimble will take some steps to retain the information.

After a merge takes place, Nimble will note the change within the "Change Log" with the date and time of the merge as well as who performed this action.

The merge-removed contact will go to the trash bin where it can be deleted permanently. 

When a contact is deleted, a "deleted" type record is created in the change log. The log is displayed in the trash bin as well. When you visit the deleted contact record from the trash bin, the ability to see the "Change Log" will appear.

Once the contact is deleted permanently, this information will no longer display.

If you have any questions, please write us at care@nimble.com, initiate a chat from this FAQ, or join one of our Nimble Onboarding and Best Practices sessions, held every weekday at 9 AM PT. 

Did this answer your question?