For any bulk email outreach, it's polite and important to give your recipients the ability to opt-out. With GDPR and CAN-SPAM, an opt-out needs to be included in any of your unsolicited email outreaches. 

Getting Started


When composing a Group Message, you will have the option to insert an unsubscribe link into the body of your email. Best practices are to place this link in the footer of your email with a clear call to action for your recipient, such as "Click here to opt-out of email communications". 

Here's an example:

Please note: If you are testing how a group message will look by selecting the "Send test message to yourself" option located at the bottom of our group message composer, Unsubscribe links will not be functional since Nimble knows you are sending from your own email address (as you cannot unsubscribe from yourself!). 

When you send the message to your list of recipients, they will be able to click on the Unsubscribe link if they wish, and be brought to a page confirming they have been unsubscribed from future group messages from you.


What happens when someone unsubscribes? 

When someone unsubscribes from your emails, you will no longer be able to send Group Messages to them at that specific email address. You will still be able to send a one on one email to this contact, but the purpose of the unsubscribe button is to give bulk email recipients the option to opt-out. 

If you load an unsubscribed user into a Group Message, you will see a warning next to their email in the group messages form, under "Errors" on the left-hand side.

Here's an example:

How to manually unsubscribe a contact from group messages

Sometimes, you might receive a message from someone on a different medium where they request to be unsubscribed for your communications, or the contact may have multiple email addresses and wish to be unsubscribed on all of them. On a Contact Profile View, select the drop-down to unsubscribe a contact. 

Once you select "Add to Unsubscribe", you'll see a confirmation box.

Select "Unsubscribe" to confirm, and you're done!


Viewing your Unsubscribe List

View your list of unsubscribed users in Settings > > Email Settings

Whitelisting Emails to Undo an Unsubscribe Action

If someone explicitly asks to be resubscribed, you may whitelist their email in Settings >> Email Settings to add the user back to your bulk email communications. 

If you have any questions, please write us at care@nimble.com, initiate a chat from this FAQ, or join one of our Nimble Onboarding and Best Practices sessions, held every weekday at 9 AM PT. 

Did this answer your question?