We understand the importance of privacy when it comes to how you and your team access and manage data. This is why Nimble provides account owners and delegated users the ability to control access and edit rights for certain features. This article will cover setting privacy for your users, contacts, deals, messages and other features.
Setting User Permissions
When adding your team members to the account, you can set which groups they will belong to which provides them with access to certain features. Permission includes, but are not limited to, enabling users to bulk export, bulk delete, access API, configure deal's pipeline and deal privacy.
Bulk Exports Restrictions
In the Settings >> Users, grant certain users the ability to perform bulk exports
Bulk Contact Deletion Restrictions
In the Settings >> Users, grant certain users the ability to perform bulk contact deletions
API Access Restrictions
In Settings >> Users, grant certain users the ability to access the API to perform imports through 3rd party apps
Configuration Pipelines Restriction
In Settings >> Users , grant certain users the ability to modify deal pipelines
Other permissions include:
- Manage billing, plan changes, and add-ons
- Deal pipeline management
- View/Edit Private Deals
- Manage activities settings
- Manage custom fields
- Manage groups
Deal Privacy Permissions
Managing Deal privacy is easy for teams on Nimble. Account administrators can view and edit all Deals in the account. They may also delegate privacy rights to specific team members under Settings >> Users.
**Deal Privacy is only available for the Nimble Business plan**
The privacy settings below may be set for specific end-users:
- View and Edit All Deals - User has rights to view and edit all deals.
- View Own Deals - User only has the rights to view and edit deals they created or own.
- View All Deals - User may view all team deals, but can only edit their own.
To learn more, please take a look at the following: Deal Privacy Overview
Setting Message Privacy
By default, Emails and Twitter conversations are set to private for all users in a Nimble account.
How to set a specific account to private or public:
The individual user who has connected the email account will be able to access and make emails public to the team. This is controlled by the user only and cannot be altered by the account admin.
1. In Nimble, go to Settings >> Networks & Imports
2. Pick the network you want to set public or private and click on the padlock icon
3. A pop-up window will appear with the options to set the account to either public or private.
By setting messages to public, all messages from that network will display under the "Interactions" tab of related contacts in your Nimble account for your team to see as well. Your Messages tab in Nimble remains private and only visible to you.
Ex. If you look at contact John Smith, you will see all your email messages with John. Additionally, if your team members look at John Smith's contact record, they will also see your email messages with him, in addition to their own.
By setting messages to private, messages from that network will be visible only to you.
Ex. If you look at contact John Smith, you will see all your email messages with John. But if your team members go to the same record, they will not see any email exchanges between you and John.
4. Select Save Changes. Now you will see the lock icon change for the network.
You can take these same steps on the connected Twitter account to make Twitter conversations public to your team.
If you would rather make individual emails public and not all emails, you can do this easily by taking the following steps:
- Visit the Message tab or a contact record
- Select the message you would like to make public
- Locate the padlock icon
That's it. The message is now public to the team for viewing.
Contact Privacy Permission
To update the ownership and privacy field for an individual contact, use the inline editing feature by selecting one of the options from the drop-down list.
For Privacy, you will see the following options:
Shared with everyone - Anyone on your account can view and edit
Private to owner - Only the contact owner can view and edit
Viewable to everyone - Anyone on your account can view
Custom privacy - Specific people or groups can view and/or edit
To update the ownership and privacy field for a select group of contacts, simply choose the contacts. You will then see the options to apply contact ownership and privacy changes in bulk.
For more information, please take a look at the following: Nimble's Contact Privacy Feature
Once you create a template, it will be added to your existing template list with the option to share the template with your team member, edit the template or delete it.
Email templates are private by default, however, clicking the padlock icon on the template will allow it to be shared your team.
Templates that have been shared with you by your team members will appeared underneath the ones you created.
Other Privacy Questions
Can I set tasks as private?
We do not offer task privacy at this time. All team members can view each other's tasks by toggling to see each other's activities lists in the Activities tab.
Team members can also see what tasks/events were created for contacts and which team member created them. Team members, however, cannot edit or delete each other's tasks/events - they can only comment.
Can I set my Nimble calendar to public or private?
Yes, you may set your Nimble calendar events to shared on the contact record in Settings >> Billings under Manage Users.
Privacy settings on connected Office 365 and Google Calendars will depend on how they are set up on your organization in your Office 365 or G Suite settings outside of Nimble.
What is Nimble’s policy on both security and privacy for my account?